

# **Approved Special Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 4:00 – 4:10 Meeting CC321, Interurban

### **Present**

# **Voting Council Members**

- 1. Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff
- 2. Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty
- 3. Chris Avis, Faculty
- 4. Debbie Hlady, Administration
- 5. Jamie McPherson, Faculty
- 6. Jennifer LeVecque, Faculty

- 7. John Boraas, Administration
- 8. Peter Ove, Faculty
- 9. Ryan Russell, Faculty
- 10. Scott Harris, Administration
- 11. Vivian Fayowski, Faculty

### **Non-Voting Council Members**

Sherri Bell, President
Brenda McBain, Board of Governors
Connie Klassen, ICC Chair
Todd Ormiston, Indigenization Representative
Melody Foreman, Permanent Secretary

### Regrets/Absent

Janet Danks, Support Staff Joshua Cameron, Student Isabel Grondin, Faculty Mark Fournier, Faculty Richard Stride, Administration

# Meeting

## A. CALL TO ORDER AND A DECLARATION OF QUORUM

The Special Meeting was called to order at 4:03 pm by Connie Klassen. Quorum was reached.

# B. ELECTION OF 2019-2020 CHAIR

Connie informed the committee that Bijan Ahmad submitted his name for consideration for the position of Chair of Education Council. Connie called for nominations from the floor. Ryan Russell nominated Bijan Ahmad. There were no other nominations. Bijan Ahmad was acclaimed the 2019-2020 Chair of Education Council.

### C. ELECTION OF 2019-2020 VICE CHAIR

Connie called for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations. An election for the Vice Chair will be held on September 18, 2019.

#### D. NEXT MEETING & ADJOURNMENT

The next regular meeting for the 2018-2019 Education Council will be on Wednesday, June 26, 2019 from 4:00 – 6:00 pm in CC 320/321 at Interurban. Connie adjourned the meeting at 4:04 pm.