

Approved Minutes

Wednesday, June 20, 2018 4:00 - 6:00 pm, CC 321, Interurban

Present

Alison Bowe, Faculty Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty (Vice-Chair) Brent Wasserman, Faculty Isabel Grondin, Faculty John Boraas, Administration Karen Neilson, Faculty Karen Lightbody, Faculty

Regrets/Absent

Dana Campbell, Student Isaiah Jurkuch, Student Richard Stride, Administration

Guests

Maia Sampson, Student Ryan Russell, Faculty Peter Ove, Faculty Scott Harris, Administration Tia Primrose, Support Staff Tim Ayers, Faculty (Chair) Connie Klassen, ICC Chair Melody Foreman, Permanent Secretary Phil Venoit, Board of Governors Sherri Bell, President

Stephen Benecke, Faculty Patrick Jones, Faculty

Rashed Al-Haque, Education Policy Specialist

ITEM

PRESENTER

Tim Ayers

A. Call to order and declaration of quorum

The regular meeting was called to order at 4:10 pm by Tim Ayers, Education Council Chair. Quorum was reached. Tim welcomed new members and invited them to attend the last regular meeting of the academic year as guests (i.e., in no official capacity or role).

В.	Acknowledgement of Coast Salish Territory	Tim Ayers
	Camosun College campuses are located on the traditional territories of the Lkwungen and	
	WSÁNEĆ peoples. We acknowledge their welcome and graciousness to the students who seek	
	knowledge here. <u>http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-education-community-</u>	
	<u>connections/about/index.html</u>	

C. Round-Table Check-In

Education Council

Tim Ayers

ITEM			PRESENTER
	Rou	and table discussion: introductions and plans for summer.	
D.	Acc	ceptance of Agenda	Tim Ayers
	Cor age	e June 20, 2018 agenda was approved by unanimous consent with one amendment. Innie Klassen, Integrated Curriculum Committee (ICC) Chair, requested that the Inda be amended to include a "Curriculum Under Review" item in the ICC Report tion as it is a standing item on the EdCo agenda.	
Ε.	Mi	nutes for approval	Tim Ayers
	The	e minutes for May 16, 2018 were approved by unanimous consent.	
F.	Rej	ports	
	1.	Education Council Chair	Tim Ayers
		Tim extended an invitation to new and current members to attend the upcoming EdCo retreat. The retreat had been tentatively scheduled for Friday, September 28. However, Sherri Bell, President, pointed out that the proposed date coincides with Orange Shirt Day and suggested rescheduling. The retreat will be held on Monday. September 24. Location TBD.	
	2.	VP Education	John Boraas
		John Boraas expressed anticipation for the 2018 Graduation Ceremonies. He also reported that work on indigenization will be coming forward.	
	3.	Board Member	Phil Benoit
		Phil Benoit reported on the board's financial/budget agenda and provided an update on the new Centre for Health and Wellness at Camosun.	
		Phil inquired what items would be most beneficial to share with EdCo and asked for guidance from Sherri. Sherri thanked Phil for attending EdCo and added that the board is also working on a campus plan and that an accountability document will be forthcoming.	
G.		Presentation and Discussion	
		Tim updated the committee on the review of section B. Terms of Membership in the EdCo bylaws. Item #5 will be adjusted as follows:	Tim Ayers
		In the event of a seat being vacated, the Chair will request that the Registrar fill the vacant seat as described in the "election rules"; and to ensure continuity of membership, the new member will serve for a full the remainder of the term , as permitted under the Act .	
		Tim reminded members of their roles and responsibilities as outlined in the bylaws and referred members to the section 5 b) which states:	

ΓEM			PRESENTER
		When a member of the Council has not attended three (3) consecutive regular meetings, his/her that seat will be treated as a vacancy, unless excused by a resolution of the Council.	
		Tim reported that as per the bylaws, Stephen Benecke's position is now vacant.	
		Scott reported that there are eight students to be presented with the Governor General's Collegiate Bronze Medal at this year's Graduation Ceremonies.	Scott Harris
G.	Int	egrated Curriculum Committee Report	Connie Klassen
	1.	Curriculum for Presentation and Approval	Nil
	2.	Curriculum for Approval	Connie Klassen
		Whereas: The Integrated Curriculum Committee had consensus to recommend full approval of the curriculum.	
		Motion: Be it so moved that Education Council approves changes to the following curriculum:	
		• CSEA 175 (IDS 3114) – Revision	
		• ECET 282 (IDS 3126) – Revision	
		 Associate of Arts Degree – PSYC (IDS 3096) – Revision 	
		Moved by: Isabel Grondin	
		Seconded by: Bijan Ahmadi Motion Carried	
		Wotion Carried Whereas: The Integrated Curriculum Committee did not have consensus to recommend full approval of the curriculum.	
		Motion: Be it so moved that Education Council approves changes to the following curriculum:	
		• ELC 150B (IDS 3098) – Cancellation	
		• IMHA (IDS 3112) – Revision	
		• MHA (IDS 3113) – Revision	
		Moved by: Bijan Ahmadi	
		Seconded by: Alison Bowe	
	-	Motion Carried	
	3.	Curriculum Under Review	Connie Klassen
		The following curriculum is under review and will come forward to ICC in the Fall:	

- PN2BSN (IDS 3115) New Bridging Program
- NURS 112 (IDS 3116) Addition

ITEM

- NURS 253 (IDS 3118) Addition
- NURS 233 (IDS 3132) Revision
- NURS 290 (IDS 3133) Revision

<https://hub.camosun.ca/sites/Education/icc>

4. Approved Category 3 Curriculum Changes

Approved Category 3 (Dean Approval) and Category 3 (VP Ed Approval) (Program Suspensions) curriculum changes are accessible from the EdCo SharePoint site for members to review.

<https://hub.camosun.ca/sites/Education>

H.Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Policy — Focus GroupAlison Bowe/
Rashed Al-HaqueAlison and Rashed facilitated a focus group. Members were divided into groups ofRashed Al-Haque

four and responded to a series of questions regarding issues surrounding equity, diversity, and inclusion. The responses will be used to inform the college's Equity, Diversity and Inclusion policy.

I. Thank You to Outgoing Members Tim Ayers Tim thanked the following outgoing members for the their service and dedication to EdCo: Tim Ayers

- Brent Wassermann
- Dana Campbell
- Isaiah Jurkuch
- Patrick Jones

J. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:00 pm.

Tim Ayers

PRESENTER

Connie Klassen