



# **Approved Special Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday June 20, 2018 4:00 – 4:10 Meeting CC321, Interurban

#### Present

Alison Bowe, Faculty (V)

Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff (V)

Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty (V)

Debbie Hlady, Administration (V)

Isabel Grondin, Faculty (V)

Jamie McPherson (V)

John Boraas, Administration (V)

Karen Lightbody, Faculty (V)

Karen Neilson, Faculty (V)

Maia Sampson, Student (V)

# Regrets/Absent

Richard Stride, Administration (V)

Stephen Benecke, Faculty (V)

### Guests

Brent Wasserman, Faculty

Peter Ove, Faculty (V)

Ryan Russell, Faculty (V)

Scott Harris, Administration (V)

Tia Primrose, Support Staff (V)

Tim Ayers, Faculty (V)

Connie Klassen, Special Meeting Chair

Melody Foreman, Permanent Secretary

Phil Venoit, Board

Sherri Bell, President

Todd Ormiston, Indigenization Coordinator

Wesley Paterson, Student (V)

Rashed Al-Haque, Education Policy Specialist

# Meeting

## A. CALL TO ORDER AND A DECLARATION OF QUORUM

The Special Meeting was called to order at 4:03 pm by Connie Klassen. Quorum was reached.

### B. ELECTION OF 2018-2019 CHAIR

Connie informed the committee that Tim Ayers had submitted his name for consideration for the position of Chair of Education Council. Connie called for other nominations from the floor; there were no other nominations. Tim Ayers was declared the 2018-2019 Chair of Education Council.

### C. ELECTION OF 2018-2019 VICE CHAIR

Bijan Ahmadi had submitted his name for consideration for the position of Vice-Chair of Education Council. Connie called for other nominations from the floor; there were no other nominations. Bijan Ahmadi was declared the 2018-2019 Vice-Chair of Education Council.

### D. NEXT MEETING & ADJOURNMENT

The next regular meeting for the 2018-2019 Education Council will be on Wednesday, September 19, 2018, 4:00 – 6:00 pm, CC 321, Interurban campus. Connie adjourned the meeting at 4:08 pm.