





# Ensuring that our students are provided with quality educational experiences

# **Approved Minutes**

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 4:00 - 6:00 pm, CC 321, Interurban

P	res	sent

Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff

Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty

Connie Klassen, ICC Chair

Isabel Grondin, Faculty

Alison Bowe, Faculty

Karen Neilson, Faculty

Peter Ove, Faculty

Richard Stride, Administration

Scott Harris, Administration – Via conference call

Jackie Polding, Temporary Secretary

Tim Ayers, Faculty (Chair)

Rashed Al-Hague, Administration

Brent Wasserman, Faculty

#### Regrets/Absent

Dana Campbell, Student

Isaiah Jurkuch, Student

Stephen Benecke, Faculty

John Boraas, Administration

Karen Lightbody, Faculty

Tia Primrose, Support Staff

Sherri Bell, President

Patrick Jones, Faculty

Phil Venoit, Board of Governors

#### Guests

ITEM PRESENTER

#### A. Call to order and declaration of quorum

Tim Ayers

The Regular Meeting was called to order at 4:10 pm by Tim Ayers, Education Council Chair.

\*Note: Rashed Al-Haque was allocated as a voting council member in order to reach quorum.

### B. Acknowledgement of Coast Salish Territory

Tim Ayers

Camosun College campuses are located on the traditional territories of the Lkwungen and WSÁNEĆ peoples. We acknowledge their welcome and graciousness to the students who seek knowledge here. <a href="http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-education-community-connections/about/index.html">http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-education-community-connections/about/index.html</a>

# c. Round-Table Check-In

Tim Ayers

EM			PRESENTE	
	Rou	und table discussion: plans for end of academic year (May / June)		
D.	Acceptance of Agenda		Tim Ayers	
E.	Minutes for Approval		Tim Ayers	
	The minutes for March 21, 2018 were approved.			
F.	Reports			
	1.	-Notice of upcoming EdCo ElectionNew members will be invited for the election portion of June 20 <sup>th</sup> EdCo meetingMembers asked to submit your nominations for election positons to edapprovals@camosun.bc.caAcademic Governance Council (AGC) was hosted by Camosun College on May 11 <sup>th</sup> . Tim Ayers was re-elected as Chair of AGCEdCo retreat will be post-poned until end of September. Date TBDRashed Al-Haque was allocated as a voting council member in order to reach quorumTim Ayers, Bijan Ahmadi and Connie Klassen to review and adjust quorum bylawsMelody Foreman is Camosun's new Coordinator of Education Approvals and permanent EdCo secretary.	Tim Ayers	
	2.	VP Education		
	2	Nil		
	3.	Board Member		
G.	Nil Committee Reports			
	Education Council Policy and Standards Committee			
	Currently working on Inclusion Policy and Student Conduct Policy		Al-Haque	
н.	Presentation and Discussion			
l.	Integrated Curriculum Committee Report		Connie Klassen	
	1.	Curriculum for Presentation and Approval (Nil)		
	2.	Curriculum For Approval	Connie Klassen	
		Motion: It was moved by Bijan Ahmadi and seconded by Isabel Grondin		

that Education Council approves the following:

ITEM PRESENTER

- \* ELD 037, 057
- \* PHYS 157
- \* FREN 106, 205, 206, 250

<u>Note:</u> Currently the course description for FREN 250 is written in French only. It is recommended that FREN 250 course description be adjusted to include an English as well.

- \*MUSC 143
- \*Diploma in Massage Therapy Expedited Approval
- \*AET 201, 202, 260, 261, 272, 273, 360
- \*BAET

**Motion carried** 

## 3. Upcoming curriculum under review

https://hub.camosun.ca/sites/Education/icc/

Connie Klassen

- Associate of Arts Degree Psychology
- CSEA 175
- ECET
- ELC 150B
- HLTH 115
- IMHA
- MHA
- NURS 112
- NURS 252
- NURS 253
- PN2BSN

#### J. Adournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:00pm.

**Tim Ayers**