

Ensuring that our students are provided with quality educational experiences

# **A**GENDA

Regular Meeting Wednesday, September 20, 2023 4:00 – 6:00 pm P216, LACC 321, MS Teams

TIME	ITEM	PRESENTER
4:00	Call to Order and Declaration of Quorum (1 min.)	Bijan Ahmadi
4:01	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COAST SALISH TERRITORY (1 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
	Camosun College campuses are located on the traditional territories of the Ləkwəŋən and WSÁNEĆ peoples. We acknowledge their welcome and graciousness to the students who seek knowledge here. <a href="http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-education-community-connections/about/index.html">http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-education-community-connections/about/index.html</a> >	
4:02	CHECK-IN (15 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
4:17	ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA (2 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
4:19	MINUTES FOR APPROVAL (1 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
	For approval: EdCo Special Meeting Minutes June 21, 2023 EdCo Meeting Minutes June 21, 2023	
4:20	REPORTS (6 MIN.)	
	Education Council Chair (2 min)	Bijan Ahmadi
	VP Education (2 min)	John Boraas
	Board Member (2 min)	Dr. Monty Bryant
4:26	COMMITTEE REPORTS (4 MIN.)	
	Education Council Policy and Standards Committee	Peter Moroney
4:30	INTEGRATED CURRICULUM COMMITTEE REPORT (3 MIN.)	Heather del Villano
	<u>Curriculum Under Review</u>	
	Presentation and Discussion (60 min.)	
4:33	Academic Concessions initial policy consultation (30 min)	Peter Moroney/ Rashed Al-Haque
	<u>Draft - Academic Concessions (Sept 2023)</u>	nasiieu Ai-naque
	<u>Draft – Academic Concessions Request Form (Sept 2023)</u>	



TIME	ITEM	PRESENTER
5:03	EdCo Members Welcome/Orientation (30 min)	Bijan Ahmadi
5:33	MEETING ADJOURNED	Bijan Ahmadi

### **Upcoming Meeting:**

Regular Meeting Wednesday, October 18, 2023 4:00 – 6:00 pm P216, LACC 321, MS Teams

#### **Voting Council Members**

- 1. Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff
- 2. Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty
- 3. Blair Fisher, Faculty
- 4. Debbie Hlady, Administration
- 5. Derek Murray, Faculty
- 6. Edgar Nelson, Faculty
- 7. John Boraas, Administration
- 8. Lois Fernyhough, Faculty
- 9. Mark Fournier, Faculty
- 10. Nicholas Read, Faculty

12. Nitika, Student

11. Richard Stride, Administration

- 12. Ritika, Student
- 13. Ryan Russell, Faculty
- 14. Scott Harris, Administration
- 15. Tia Primrose, Support Staff
- 16. Faculty (Vacant)
- 17. Faculty (Vacant)
- 18. Student (Vacant)
- 19. Student (Vacant)
- 20. Student (Vacant)

**Members** (Quorum = 11)

#### **Non-Voting Council Members**

Lane Trotter, President
Dr. Monty Bryant, Board of Governors
Heather del Villano, Interim ICC Chair

Peter Moroney, Education Policy & Planning Andrea Kucherawy, Permanent Secretary TBA, Indigenization Coordinator

## Guests

Rashed Al-Haque, Education Policy Specialist; Sarah-Joy Kallos, Co-op Internship Coordinator; Alexis Martfeld, A&S, Faculty

#### For Information:

#### **Education Council Executive:**

Chair: Bijan Ahmadi, Business, 250-370-4140, ahmadib@camosun.ca

Vice Chair: Andrea Kucherawy, Education Policy & Planning, 250-370-3037, KucherawyA@camosun.ca



# **Education Council**





Interim ICC Chair: Heather del Villano, Access, 250-370-3476, <a href="mailto:delVillanoH@camosun.ca">delVillanoH@camosun.ca</a>

Education: John Boraas, VP Education and Innovation, Interurban, 250-370-4543, boraas@camosun.ca

Registrar: Scott Harris, Registrar's Office, Interurban, 250-370-3840, <a href="mailto:harriss@camoun.ca">harriss@camoun.ca</a>

EPP Director: Peter Moroney, Education Policy & Planning, Lansdowne, 250-370-3249, moroneyp@camosun.ca

Permanent Secretary: Andrea Kucherawy, Education Policy & Planning, Lansdowne, 250-370-3037, edapprovals@camosun.ca