

AGENDA

Regular Meeting Wednesday, April 21, 2021 4:00 – 6:00 pm MS Teams

TIME	ITEM	PRESENTER
4:00	CALL TO ORDER AND DECLARATION OF QUORUM (1 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
4:01	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COAST SALISH TERRITORY (1 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
	Camosun College campuses are located on the traditional territories of the Lkwungen and WSÁNEĆ peoples. We acknowledge their welcome and graciousness to the students who seek knowledge here. < <u>http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-</u> education-community-connections/about/index.html>	
4:02	Снеск-ім (10 мім.)	Bijan Ahmadi
4:12	Acceptance of Agenda (2 min.)	Bijan Ahmadi
4:14	MINUTES FOR APPROVAL (1 MIN.)	Bijan Ahmadi
	For approval: EdCo Meeting Minutes March 17, 2021	
4:15	Reports (6 min.)	
	Education Council Chair (2 min)	Bijan Ahmadi
	VP Education (2 min)	John Boraas
	Board Member (2 min)	Joanne Cumberland
4:21	COMMITTEE REPORTS (4 MIN.)	
	Education Council Policy and Standards Committee	Peter Moroney
4:25	INTEGRATED CURRICULUM COMMITTEE REPORT	
	Regular Curriculum for Approval	Connie Klassen
	None	
	Curriculum Under Review	Connie Klassen
	None	



ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION			
4:25	Delivery Methods	John Boraas	
4:45	Admission Requirements vs. Prerequisite Requirements	Connie Klassen	
5:05	MEETING ADJOURNED	Bijan Ahmadi	

Upcoming Meetings:

Regular Meeting Wednesday, May 19, 2021 4:00 – 6:00 pm MS Teams

Voting Council Members

- 1. Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff
- 2. Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty
- 3. Blair Fisher, Faculty
- 4. Chris Avis, Faculty
- 5. Debbie Hlady, Administration
- 6. Disha Khattry, Student
- 7. Isabel Grondin, Faculty
- 8. Janet Danks, Support Staff
- 9. Jennifer LeVecque, Faculty
- 10. John Boraas, Administration

Non-Voting Council Members

Sherri Bell, President Joanne Cumberland, Board of Governors Connie Klassen, ICC Chair

For Information:

Education Council Executive:

- 11. Mark Fournier, Faculty
- 12. Puneet Kaur, Student
- 13. Richard Stride, Administration
- 14. Robin Fast, Faculty
- 15. Ruth Lyall, Faculty
- 16. Ryan Russell, Faculty
- 17. Scott Harris, Administration
- 18. Vivian Fayowski, Faculty
- 19. Student (Vacant)
- 20. Student (Vacant)

Members (Quorum = 11)

Peter Moroney, Education Policy & Planning Melody Foreman, Permanent Secretary Todd Ormiston, Indigenization Representative

Chair: Bijan Ahmadi, Business, 250-370-4140, <u>ahmadib@camosun.bc.ca</u> Vice Chair: Andrea Kucherawy, Access, 250-370-3165, <u>KucherawyA@camosun.bc.ca</u> ICC Chair: Connie Klassen, Sport & Exercise Education, 250-370-4728, <u>klassenc@camosun.bc.ca</u> VP Education: John Boraas, Office of VP Education, Interurban, 250-370-4543, <u>boraas@camosun.bc.ca</u> Registrar: Scott Harris, Registrar's Office, Interuran, 250-370-3840, <u>harriss@camoun.bc.ca.ca</u> EPP Director: Peter Moroney, Office of VP Education, Interurban, 250-370-3249, <u>moroneyp@camosun.bc.ca</u> Permanent Secretary: Melody Foreman, Office of VP Education, Interurban, 250-370-3037, <u>edapprovals@camosun.bc.ca</u>



DRAFT Minutes

REGULAR MEETING Wednesday, March 17, 2020 4:00 – 6:00 pm Video Conference

Present

Voting Members

- 1. Andrea Kucherawy, Support Staff (Vice-Chair)
- 2. Bijan Ahmadi, Faculty (Chair)
- 3. Blair Fisher, Faculty
- 4. Chris Avis, Faculty
- 5. Debbie Hlady, Administration
- 6. Disha Khattry, Student
- 7. Isabel Grondin, Faculty
- 8. Janet Danks, Support Staff
- 9. Jennifer LeVecque, Faculty

Non-Voting Members

Connie Klassen, ICC Chair Joanne Cumberland, Board of Governors Melody Foreman, Permanent Secretary

Guests:

N/A

Regrets/Absent:

Scott Harris, Administration Disha Khattry, Student

- 10. John Boraas, Administration
- 11. Mark Fournier, Faculty
- 12. Puneet Kaur, Student
- 13. Richard Stride, Administration
- 14. Robin Fast, Faculty
- 15. Ruth Lyall, Faculty
- 16. Ryan Russell, Faculty
- 17. Vivian Fayowski, Faculty

Peter Moroney, Education Policy & Planning Sherri Bell, President Todd Ormiston, Indigenization Representative

- 1	т	с	ΝЛ	
		E	IVI	

A. CALL TO ORDER AND DECLARATION OF QUORUM

The regular meeting was called to order at 4:01 pm. Quorum was reached.

B. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COAST SALISH TERRITORY

Camosun College campuses are located on the traditional territories of the Lkwungen and WSÁNEĆ peoples. We acknowledge their welcome and graciousness to the students who seek knowledge here. <<u>http://camosun.ca/learn/school/indigenous-education-community-</u> <u>connections/about/index.html</u>>

PRESENTER

Bijan Ahmadi

Bijan Ahmadi

ITEM		PRESENTER
C.	ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA	Bijan Ahma
	The agenda for March 17, 2021 was approved by unanimous consent.	
D.	MINUTES FOR APPROVAL	Bijan Ahma
	The minutes for the <u>February 17, 2021</u> meeting were approved by unanimous consent.	
Ε.	REPORTS	
	1. Education Council Chair	Bijan Ahma
	Bijan informed the council that the Registrar's Office has announced the upcoming spring election for 2021/2022 Education Council membership. With the exception of Blair Fisher, Ruth Lyall, and Ryan Russell, all members' terms will expire July 31, 2021.	
	2. VP Education	John Bora
	No report	
	3. Board Member	Joanne Cumberla
	Joanne Cumberland reported Sherri Bell is retiring. John Boraas delivered presentation to the Board on equity, diversity, and inclusion. Wilma Thomas provided an update on Collaborative space for students.	
F.	COMMITTEE REPORTS	
	Education Council Policy and Standards Committee	Peter Morone
	Peter Moroney reported that the committee met on February 19. Evaluation of the student learning policy is undergoing a consultation process and will come forward at a future EdCo. The committee also reviewed the Course Syllabus which is being rolled out.	
G.	INTEGRATED CURRICULUM COMMITTEE REPORT	Connie Klasse
	REGULAR CURRICULUM	
	Whereas: The Integrated Curriculum Committee has reviewed and had <u>consensus</u> to recommend full approval of the following curriculum:	
	Arts & Science: Criminal Justice	
	2021F_CRIM_IDS4048_Revision	
	2021F_CRIM-205_IDS4047_Revision	
	2021F_CRIM-211_IDS4045_Revision	
	2021F_CRIM-215_IDS4046_Revision	
	HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES: DENTAL HYGIENE	

ITEM		PRESENTER
	2021F_DHYG-245_Revision	
	Motion: That Education Council approves the curriculum as submitted:	
	Moved by: Debbie Hlady	
	Seconded by: Janet Danks	
	Motion Carried	
١.	ADJOURNMENT	Bijan Ahmadi
	The meeting adjourned at 4:21 pm.	